Diabetes Education in Tribal Schools

Diabetes Education in Tribal Schools (DETS) Program Contacts

***For information regarding the DETS program please contact the following representative near your area. ***
You may also order the DETS Curriculum from the Indian Health Service online catalog page
http://www.ihs.gov/MedicalPrograms/Diabetes/RESOURCES/Catalog/rde/index.cfm?module=catalog&opt=2

  • Candeska Cikana Community College (CCCC)
      (North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, Nebraska, Missouri, Arkansas, Mississippi, Ohio )
    Contact Person:
    Ann Wadsworth
    ann_wadsworth@littlehoop.edu
    (701) 766-1134


  • Fort Peck Community College (FPCC)
      (North West Montana, Northern Colorado)
    Contact Person:
    Joni Ackerman
    jackerman@fpcc.edu
    (406) 768-3024


  • Haskell Indian National University (HINU)
      (Kansas, Central and West Oklahoma, Texas, Louisiana)
    Contact Person:
    Shelly Bointy, M.S.W.
    sbointy@haskell.edu
    (785) 832-6628


  • Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College (KBOCC)
      (Michigan, Eastern Wisconsin, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Maine)
    Contact Person:
    Lynn Aho, Ph.D.
    laho@kbocc.org or diabeteseducation@hotmail.com
    (906) 353-8151


  • Leech Lake Tribal College (LLTC)
      (Minnesota, Western Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana)
    Contact Person:
    Juanita Wiley
    juanita.wiley@lltc.edu
    (218) 335-4279


  • Northwest Indian College (NWIC)
      (Washington, Oregon, Northern Idaho, Northern California, Northern Utah)
    Contact Person:
    Bill Freeman, M.D.
    wfreeman@nwic.edu
    (360) 392-4284


  • Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute (SIPI)
      (New Mexico, Arizona, Southern Utah, Southern Colorado)
    Contact Person:
    Carol Maller, MS, RN, CHES
    cmaller@sipi.bia.edu
    (505) 453-4437


  • Stone Child College (SCC)
      (Georgia, South Carolina, Virginia, Montana, Idaho, Wyoming)
    Contact Person:
    Corey Sangrey
    clsangrey@yahoo.com
    (406) 395-4875 ext: 246


  • Other DETS Location:
      (Alaska, Southern California, Florida, Hawaii, Nebraska, Nevada, New York, North Carolina)
    Contact Person:
    Carolee Dodge Francis, Ed.D.
    Carolee.dodgefrancis@unlv.edu
    (702) 895-0569
Diabetes Education in Tribal Schools
DHHS NIH NIDDK